## ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL: 23 MAY 2017

## APPOINTMENT OF BOARDS AND COMMITTEES

### COUNCIL OVERVIEW AND BUDGET SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Conservative (6)	Surrey Opposition Forum (2)
Kay Hammond Tim Hall Ayesha Azad Tim Evans David Harmer Charlotte Morley	Hazel Watson Jonathan Essex
Residents' Association & Independent (1)	Other (1)
Nick Harrison	Robert Evans

#### ADULTS AND HEALTH SELECT COMMITTEE

Conservative (10)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Ken Gulati Sinead Mooney Ben Carasco Bill Chapman Graham Ellwood Saj Hussain David Mansfield Mark Nuti John O'Reilly	Angela Goodwin <i>Residents' Association &amp; Independent (1)</i> Nick Darby
Victoria Young	

#### CHILDREN AND EDUCATION SELECT COMMITTEE

Conservative (10)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Mark Brett-Warburton Marsha Moseley Liz Bowes Jeff Harris	Chris Botten
Edward Hawkins Julie Iles Yvonna Lay	Residents' Association & Independent (1)
Charlotte Morley Tina Mountain Peter Szanto	Chris Townsend

# ENVIRONMENT AND INFRASTRUCTURE SELECT COMMITTEE

Conservative (11)	Surrey Opposition Forum (2)
Bob Gardner Wyatt Ramsdale Mary Angell Bill Chapman Paul Deach	Stephen Cooksey Jonathan Essex
Matt Furniss Bernie Muir John O'Reilly Lesley Steeds Richard Walsh Richard Wilson	<b>Residents' Association &amp; Independent (2)</b> Eber Kington Stephen Spence

# COMMUNITIES SELECT COMMITTEE

Conservative (10)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Rachael Lake Saj Hussain	David Goodwin
Bob Gardner Alison Griffiths Richard Hampson Marisa Heath Cameron McIntosh Lesley Steeds Barbara Thomson Keith Witham	<i>Residents' Association &amp; Independent (1)</i> Jan Mason

#### CORPORATE SERVICES SELECT COMMITTEE

Conservative (10)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Zully Grant-Duff Andrew Povey	Will Forster
Mike Bennison Naz Islam Graham Knight Sinead Mooney Mark Nuti Wyatt Ramsdale Mark Brett-Warburton Richard Walsh	<b>Residents' Association &amp; Independent (1)</b> Andy MacLeod

\_

#### PLANNING & REGULATORY COMMITTEE

<b>Conservative (9)</b> Tim Hall	Surrey Opposition Forum (2)
Keith Taylor	Penny Rivers
Natalie Bramhall Paul Deach	Stephen Cooksey
Matt Furniss Jeff Harris	Substitutes (up to 7):-
Bernie Muir Andrew Povey Rose Thorn	All Members of the SOF, apart from Hazel Watson
<b>Substitutes (up to 7):-</b> Richard Hampson	Residents' Association & Independent (1)
Cameron McIntosh Mike Bennison	Ernest Mallett
Graham Knight Julie Iles	Substitutes (up to 7):-
Yvonna Lay Mary Angell	Chris Townsend Nick Darby
	Nick Harrison

## AUDIT & GOVERNANCE

Conservative (4)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
David Harmer Keith Witham Edward Hawkins	Fiona White
Peter Szanto	<b>Residents' Association &amp; Independent (1)</b> Ernest Mallett

## PEOPLE, PERFORMANCE AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Conservative (4)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
David Hodge John Furey	Hazel Watson
Mel Few Ken Gulati	Substitutes (up to 7):-
Substitutes (up to 7 Cabinet	All Members of the SOF except Penny Rivers and David Goodwin
Members):-	
Helyn Clack Clare Curran Denise Turner-Stewart	Residents' Association & Independent (1)
Mary Lewis Mike Goodman	Nick Harrison
Tim Oliver Colin Kemp	Substitutes (up to 7):-
	Ernest Mallett Chris Townsend

#### SURREY PENSION FUND COMMITTEE

Conservative (4)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Tim Evans Ben Carasco	Hazel Watson
Ayesha Azad David Mansfield	Residents' Association & Independent (1)

# Co-opted Members (4)

- One representative (trade union) from employee members of the Fund
- Two representatives from Districts and Boroughs of the Fund;
- One representative from all other employers in the Fund.

\* Authorise the Chief Executive to appoint the co-opted Members of the Surrey Pension Fund Committee following nominations from each stakeholder group listed above.

## **MEMBER CONDUCT PANEL\***

Conservative (7)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Peter Martin Tony Samuels Tim Hall Mark Brett-Warburton Mary Angell Zully Grant-Duff David Harmer	Chris Botten
<b>Residents' Association &amp;</b> <b>Independent (2)</b> Nick Darby Chris Townsend	

\*Must include Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council

## POLICE AND CRIME PANEL (1)

Nominations received:	Charlotte Morley
-----------------------	------------------

### BUCKINGHAMSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL AND SURREY COUNTY COUNCIL JOINT TRADING STANDARDS SERVICE COMMITTEE (2)\*

Nominations received:	Denise Turner-Stewart Richard Walsh

\*One County Councillor, who must be a Cabinet Member. In addition, the County Councillor can appoint one county councillor to undertake a non-voting advisory role.

## **BASINGSTOKE CANAL JOINT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE (4)\***

Nominations received:	Colin Kemp Mike Goodman Ben Carasco Paul Deach
-----------------------	---

\*Must include a Cabinet Member and 3 Members representing divisions which include the Basingstoke Canal in their area.

#### **Recommendations:**

- (1) To appoint Members to serve on the Committees of the Council for the Council year 2017/18 in accordance with the wishes of political groups.
- (2) To authorise the Chief Executive to make changes to the membership of any of the Council's Boards / Committees as necessary during the Council year in accordance with the wishes of political groups, with the exception of changes to the membership of the Council Overview and Budget Scrutiny Committee, which would be referred to Council for agreement.
- (3) To appoint the County Councillors representing divisions in the Woking borough area to serve on the Woking Joint Committee for the Council year 2017/18.
- (4) To appoint the County Councillors representing divisions in the Spelthorne borough area to serve on the Spelthorne Joint Committee for the Council year 2017/18.
- (5) To appoint the remaining County Councillors for each district/borough area to serve on the appropriate Local Committee for the Council year 2017/18, and to authorise the Chief Executive to appoint an equal number of district/borough councillors to the Local Committees following nominations by the district and borough councils, which they should be requested to make politically proportional to their Membership.
- (6) To appoint the Council's representative to the Surrey Police and Crime Panel for the Council year 2017/18.
- (7) To appoint up to two Members to the Buckinghamshire County Council and Surrey County Council Joint Trading Standards Service Committee, one of whom must be a Cabinet Member; the other in an advisory non-voting role.

(8) To appoint four Members (who must be Cabinet Members or County Councillors representing divisions which include the Basingstoke Canal in their area) to the Basingstoke Canal Joint Management Committee.