ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL: 22 MAY 2018 APPOINTMENT OF BOARDS AND COMMITTEES

CORPORATE OVERVIEW SELECT COMMITTEE (10)

Conservative (8)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Ken Gulati Ayesha Azad Tim Evans Tim Hall	Hazel Watson
David Harmer Richard Walsh Mark Brett Warburton Keith Witham	Residents' Association & Independent (1) Nick Harrison

ADULTS AND LIFELONG LEARNING SELECT COMMITTEE (10)

Conservative (8)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Sinead Mooney Bernie Muir Bill Chapman Marsha Moseley	Angela Goodwin
David Mansfield Mark Nuti Rose Thorn Andrew Povey	Residents' Association & Independent (1) Ernest Mallett

CHILDREN AND EDUCATION SELECT COMMITTEE (10)

Conservative (7)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Kay Hammond Liz Bowes Tim Evans Julie Iles Yvonna Lay Lesley Steeds Victoria Young	Chris Botten
Residents' Association & Independent (1) Chris Townsend	Other (1) Robert Evans

ENVIRONMENT SELECT COMMITTEE (10)

Conservative (8)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Rachael Lake Saj Hussain Tina Mountain Richard Hampson Marisa Heath	Jonathan Essex
Keith Witham Richard Wilson Mike Bennison	Residents' Association & Independent (1) Jan Mason

HIGHWAYS AND GROWTH SELECT COMMITTEE (10)

Conservative (8)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Bob Gardner John O'Reilly Paul Deach	Stephen Cooksey
Richard Walsh Peter Szanto Matt Furniss Barbara Thomson Tina Mountain	Residents' Association & Independent (1) Andy MacLeod

HEALTH INTEGRATION AND COMMISSIONING SELECT COMMITTEE (10)

Conservative (8)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Zully Grant Duff Wyatt Ramsdale Graham Knight Naz Islam Mary Angell Bill Chapman Graham Ellwood John O'Reilly	Fiona White Residents' Association & Independent (1) Nick Darby

PLANNING & REGULATORY COMMITTEE

Conservative (8)

Tim Hall
Matt Furniss
Keith Taylor
Natalie Bramhall
Andrew Povey
Rose Thorn
Edward Hawkins
Mary Angell

Substitutes (up to 7):-

Mike Bennison Richard Wilson Yvonna Lay Richard Hampson Julie Iles

Surrey Opposition Forum (2)

Stephen Cooksey Penny Rivers

Substitutes (up to 7):-

Jonathan Essex Will Forster David Goodwin

Residents' Association & Independent (1)

Ernest Mallett

Substitutes (up to 7):-

Nick Darby Nick Harrison Chris Townsend

AUDIT & GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Conservative (4) David Harmer Keith Witham Edward Hawkins Peter Szanto Surrey Opposition Forum (1) Will Forster Residents' Association & Independent (1) Stephen Spence

PEOPLE, PERFORMANCE AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Conservative (4)

David Hodge Ken Gulati Tim Oliver John Furey

Substitutes (up to 7 Cabinet Members):-

Helyn Clack
Clare Curran
Mike Goodman
Mel Few
Mary Lewis
Denise Turner Stewart

Surrey Opposition Forum (1)

Fiona White

Substitutes (up to 7):-

Chris Botten

Residents' Association & Independent (1)

Eber Kington

Substitutes (up to 7):-

Nick Harrison Ernest Mallett Chris Townsend

SURREY PENSION FUND COMMITTEE

Conservative (4)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Tim Evans Ben Carasco	Hazel Watson
Ayesha Azad David Mansfield	Residents' Association & Independent (1)
	John Beckett

Co-opted Members (4)*

- One representative (trade union) from employee members of the Fund
- Two representatives from Districts and Boroughs of the Fund;
- One representative from all other employers in the Fund.

^{*} Authorise the Chief Executive to appoint the co-opted Members of the Surrey Pension Fund Committee following nominations from each stakeholder group listed above.

MEMBER CONDUCT PANEL*

Conservative (7)	Surrey Opposition Forum (1)
Mary Angell Mark Brett Warburton Zully Grant Duff Tim Hall David Harmer Peter Martin Tony Samuels	Hazel Watson
Residents' Association & Independent (2) Eber Kington Chris Townsend	

^{*}Must include Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council

POLICE AND CRIME PANEL (1)

Nominations received:	Charlotte Morley

BUCKINGHAMSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL AND SURREY COUNTY COUNCIL JOINT TRADING STANDARDS SERVICE COMMITTEE (2)*

Nominations received:	Denise Turner-Stewart Richard Walsh

^{*}One County Councillor, who must be a Cabinet Member. In addition, the County Council can appoint one county councillor to undertake a non-voting advisory role.

BASINGSTOKE CANAL JOINT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE (4)*

Ben Carasco	Nominations received:	Colin Kemp Paul Deach
-------------	-----------------------	--------------------------

^{*}Must include a Cabinet Member and three Members representing divisions which include the Basingstoke Canal in their area.

The County Council is asked to note the following Committee Appointments made by the Leader of the Council:

INVESTMENT BOARD (6)*

Mel Few Tim Oliver Colin Kemp Nick Darby (non-voting role)

^{*}Five Cabinet Members including the Leader and Deputy Leader. In addition, the Leader may appoint one county councillor to undertake a non-voting role.

SHAREHOLDER BOARD (3)*

|--|

^{*}Three Cabinet Members including the Leader, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member with the business portfolio.

ORBIS JOINT COMMITTEE (2)*

Appointment:	Helyn Clack Denise Turner-Stewart
--------------	--------------------------------------

^{*}Two Cabinet Members.

ORBIS PUBLIC LAW JOINT COMMITTEE (1)*

Appointment:	Helyn Clack	
--------------	-------------	--

^{*}One County Councillor, who must be a Cabinet Member.

Recommendations:

- (1) To appoint Members to serve on the Committees of the Council for the Council year 2018/19 in accordance with the wishes of political groups.
- (2) To authorise the Chief Executive to make changes to the membership of any of the Council's Committees as necessary during the Council year in accordance with the wishes of political groups, with the exception of changes to the membership of the Corporate Overview Committee, which would be referred to Council for agreement.
- (3) To appoint the County Councillors representing divisions in the Woking borough area to serve on the Woking Joint Committee for the Council year 2018/19.
- (4) To appoint the County Councillors representing divisions in the Spelthorne borough area to serve on the Spelthorne Joint Committee for the Council year 2018/19.
- (5) To appoint the County Councillors representing divisions in the Runnymede borough area to serve on the Runnymede Joint Committee for the Council year 2018/19.
- (6) To appoint the remaining County Councillors for each district/borough area to serve on the appropriate Local Committee for the Council year 2018/19, and to authorise the Chief Executive to appoint an equal number of district/borough councillors to the Local Committees following nominations by the district and borough councils, which they should be requested to make politically proportional to their Membership.
- (7) To appoint the Council's representative to the Surrey Police and Crime Panel for the Council year 2018/19.
- (8) To appoint four Members (one of whom must be a Cabinet Member and the others County Councillors representing divisions that include the Basingstoke Canal) to the Basingstoke Canal Joint Management Committee.
- (9) To appoint up to two Members to the Buckinghamshire County Council and Surrey County Council Joint Trading Standards Service Committee, one of whom must be a Cabinet Member; the other in an advisory non-voting role.
- (10) To note the Leader's appointments to the Council's Executive Committees as outlined above.