CHANGES TO CABINET PORTFOLIOS AND APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

- Article 6 of the Council's Constitution authorises the Leader to designate Members as Deputy Cabinet Members. The Article explains that a Deputy Cabinet Member will not be a member of the Cabinet and will not participate in Cabinet decision-making but may work closely with a Cabinet Member. Deputy Cabinet Members may not be members of a Select Committee.
- 2. The Leader has advised that as of 29 September 2020, Edward Hawkins will be designated Deputy Cabinet Member for Property. In accordance with Article 6, this designation is reported to the next meeting of the Council.
- 4. Until his appointment as a Deputy Cabinet Member, Mr Hawkins was the vice-chairman of the Planning and Regulatory Committee and a member of the Audit and Governance Committee.
- 5. In addition, following the resignation of Mr Graham Knight as one of the vice-chairmen/select committee task group leads of the Resources and Performance Select Committee, a replacement will need to be appointed to this role.

RECOMMENDATIONS

- 1. Council to note Mr Edward Hawkins' appointment by the Leader as a Deputy Cabinet Member supporting the property portfolio area on 29 September 2020.
- 2. As a result of the above, appointments are to be made to the Audit and Governance Committees and Planning and Regulatory Committee for the remainder of the 2020/21 Council Year:
 - Mrs Victoria Young to be appointed to the Audit and Governance Committee.
 - Mr Tim Evans to be appointed to the Planning and Regulatory Committee.
- 3. Council to delegate authority to the Chief Executive to appoint to the roles of:
 - Vice-chairman of the Planning and Regulatory Committee and;
 - A vice-chairman/select committee task group lead for the Resources and Performance Select Committee.

CONTACT Vicky Hibbert

Vicky Hibbert Governance Lead Manager

TEL NO: 020 8541 9229

BACKGROUND PAPERS: County Council's Constitution