Committee details

Economic Prosperity, Environment and Highways Board

Purpose of committee

The Economic Prosperity, Environment & Highways Board is responsible for the Performance, finance and risk monitoring for the Environment & Infrastructure directorate.


The following services also fall under the remit of the Board;


Ø  Strategic Planning

Ø  Economic Prosperity

Ø  Countryside

Ø  Waste and recycling

Ø  Transport Service Infrastructure

Ø  Aviation

Ø  Highway Maintenance

Ø  Community Transport

Ø  Economic Development and the Rural Economy

Ø  Housing

Ø  Local Transport Plan

Ø  Road Safety

Ø  Concessionary Travel

Ø  Minerals

Ø  Parking regulation and enforcement

Ø  Climate change and carbon energy

Ø  Rights of way

Ø  Cycle routes

Ø  Gypsy and Traveller sites

Ø  Biodiversity and wildlife

Ø  Planning services

Ø  Street lighting

Ø  Flood prevention and infrastructure


The Chairman of the Board is Cllr David Harmer and the Vice-Chairman is Cllr Bob Gardner.


The following Cabinet portfolios fall within the remit of this board;


Cllr Mike Goodman, Cabinet Member for Environment and Planning


Cllr John Furey, Cabinet Member for Highways, Transport and Flooding


Cllr Peter Martin, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Lead for Economic Prosperity


Contact information

Support officer: Huma Younis or Sharmina Ullah.

Postal address:
Room 122
County Hall
Penrhyn Road
Kingston upon Thames

Phone: 0208 213 2725 or 020 8213 2838

Email: or